Feb 27, 2024

Monday 11 March 2024

Cape York Land Council (CYLC) has been engaged by the State of Queensland to facilitate information and decision-making meetings in relation to a World Heritage Tentative Listing for some areas of the Cape York Peninsula.

On 8 February 2024, CYLC facilitated an information meeting with the Southern Kaantju Native Title group to provide:

  • information on World Heritage and the Tentative Listing process;
  • an opportunity to meet with and ask questions of representatives of the State of Queensland and the Commonwealth; and
  • discuss the next steps in the engagement process and the potential Tentative Listing of Southern Kaantju Native Title country.

The next step in the engagement process is a decision-making meeting, which will be held on Monday 11 March 2024 in Coen with the Southern Kaantju Native Title group.

Purpose of the meeting:

The purpose of this decision-making meeting is for the Southern Kaantju Native Title group to decide whether or not they agree to certain areas of Southern Kaantju country being included in the World Heritage Tentative List Submission for parts of the Cape York Peninsula.

Who is invited to attend the meetings?

The meeting is open to all Southern Kaantju People. The Southern Kaantju People are those Aboriginal persons who are descended by birth, or by adoption in accordance with the traditional laws acknowledged and the traditional customs observed by the Southern Kaantju group, from one or more of the following apical ancestors:

  1. Jinny (Tayaqobi) Archer (mother of Lucy Hudson);
  2. Charlie Attack Creek;
  3. Father of Charlie Bezai;
  4. Tommy Binan (aka Harry Banana/Barnard);
  5. Billy Boyle (spouse of Maggie Bezai);
  6. Butt (aka Dick Butt aka Ambrose Butt);
  7. Peter Creek Senior;
  8. Johnny Ilnkay and Old Man Romeo (siblings);
  9. Jack Matissey (aka Jack Maddison/Matheson);
  10. Tom Platt;
  11. Rosie (Thaypanmunu);
  12. Father of Jack Shephard;
  13. Takata and his brother Puuchanu;
  14. Jack Williamson;
  15. Friday Wilson;
  16. Willie Alf Young;
  17. Jimmy Ross and Lily/Mily; or
  18. Alick Pitt (Baragunyinyu).

The meeting will be held as follows:

Date: Monday 11 March 2024
Venue: Wunthulpu Centre, Coen
Time: 10:30am – 12:00pm

If you have any queries about this meeting or to confirm your attendance whether in person or via phone or video-link, please contact Kathrine Scott before Monday 4 March 2024 at CYLC on free call number 1800 623 548 or by email

Download notice