Corporate Governance Policies

May 16, 2018

The CYLC is incorporated under the Corporations (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders) Act 2006, known as CATSI Act which was passed by the Australian Parliament on 18 October 2006 and introduced into effect on 1 July 2007.

The CATSI Act replaced the Aboriginal Councils and Associations Act 1976 (Cth.), or ACA Act, and CYLC registered a new CATSI Act compliant Constitution (or Rule Book) with the Office of the Registrar of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Corporations (ORATSIC). ORATSIC granted an exemption to allow CYLC to have a Board of 17 Directors.

The Board of Directors is responsible for governance of CYLC. This includes the setting of the broad strategic direction for the organisation. The Strategic direction is supported by the operational plan that details activities, associated resources and performance information. The NTU produces work plans for all matters, in line with the operational plan. All activities are related to an output within the outcomes and outputs framework.

The Prescribed Bodies Corporate are also governed by the CATSI Act 2006. Their role is to support grass roots decision making. CYLC proudly supports PBC’s to undertake consultation with people who speak for their land, to develop agreements and seek consultation for the use of land. Like CYLC, PBCs do not speak for land. Only Traditional Owners, Pama, speak for your land.