Mokwiri aboriginal Corporation

Apr 16, 2018

[vc_row][vc_column][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1528453838701{margin-bottom: 0px !important;}”]The Mokwiri Aboriginal Corporation administers land on behalf of members of six language affiliated groups described as the Yupungathi, Tjungundji, Taepadhighi, Mbakwithi, Thankakwithi and Anathangay. Their native title rights and interests were recognised in the Northern Cape York #2 Native Title Claim Group determination of 20 June 2014.

The court recognised that the applicants held exclusive native title rights over an area described in the case as Schedule 1, Part 1 and that the applicants held non-exclusive native title rights over an area described in the case as Schedule 1, Part 2. The determination area includes land and waters in the north west of the Cape York Peninsula, lying to the north between the Ducie and Wenlock Rivers and Cox Creek and Mission River and Myall Creek in the south.
[/vc_column_text][vc_row_inner][vc_column_inner width=”1/2″][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1528453940649{margin-bottom: 0px !important;}”]


Mr Gabriel Mairu (Chairperson)
Mr Charles Budby (Deputy Chair)
Ms Andrea Toby
Ms Kerry Callope
Ms Linda Cooktown
Ms Gladys Wheeler
Miss Josephine Samson-Narara
Mr Stephen Parry
Ms Rhonda Parry
Ms Julie Mairu
Mrs Celia Fletcher
Ms Samantha Kennedy
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column_inner][vc_column_inner width=”1/2″][vc_column_text css=”.vc_custom_1528453968600{margin-bottom: 0px !important;}”]

Contact Details

Jessica Point Civic Centre
Wa-Tyne Street
PO Box 1339

Phone: 0484 634 825
[/vc_column_text][/vc_column_inner][/vc_row_inner][mk_padding_divider][vc_column_text el_class=”download” css=”.vc_custom_1528894852852{margin-bottom: 0px !important;}”]

Download Profile

[/vc_column_text][/vc_column][/vc_row][vc_row][vc_column][vc_separator color=”custom” accent_color=”#343836″ el_class=”news_sepsrtor_11″][/vc_column][/vc_row]